The three main geographical regions of Nepal are:

a. Terai region

b. Hilly region

c. Himalayan Region

The real altitude of Terai region is up to 600m from sea level and width is 25 to 32km from Mechi to Mahakali.

The real altitude and width of Hilly region is:

a. 700 to 3300m height.

b. 80 to 1300 km width

The real altitude of Himalayan region is more than 3300m height.

Physically Nepal is divided into three regions. They are Terai, hilly and Himalayan region. They are explained separately as follows:

Terai region: The physical region with the height from the sea level to 600m is known as Terai region. It is plain. It is known as granary (Store-house) of Nepal. The inner Terai is also included to it. Terai region consists of fertile soil so more crops are grown.

Hilly region: The mountainous region with the height from 600 to 3300 m is known as hilly region. There are many valleys, tars, basins, etc. the valleys and basins are suitable for cultivation.

Himalayan region: The Himalayan region with the height 3300 above is known as Himalayan region. There are many Himalayan peaks and some world top mountains. There are some high valleys which are known by ‘Votes’. This region is known as famous for tourist resort.