The planets

Subject: General Knowledge and IQ

Find Your Query


This note is about the eight planets and their informations.
The planets


A planet is the Non-luminous heavenly bodies revolving round the sun. The meaning of Planet in The Greek language is Wanderer. There are 8 planets in the solar system. They are - Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune. Planets are divided into two distinct group. One is inner and another is outer. Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars are known as inner planets and Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune are known as outer planets.

Pluto was declared as the new planet in the solar system and in 1st September 2006 A.D it was declared that Pluto will not be counted as a planet. Planet revolves around the sun in an Anti-clockwise direction. Earth has got only one satellite and Mars has got two satellites. Mercury is the smallest planet as well as Jupiter is the biggest planet.

Planets don't emit their own light. All the eight planets revolve around the sun on its orbit. We call the period of one rotation of planet as a day. Venus is the only planet that rotates clockwise. Saturn is the planet which could float on the water.Mercury is known as the morning star. Venus is known as the evening star and also known as the hottest planet. Mars is known as the red planet and Jupiter is known as the king of the planet. In every 4 years, leap year occur.

Abroad Studies Opportunities

Things to remember
  • There are 8 Types of planet. They are :
  • -Mercury(Budha)
  • -Venus(Shukra)
  • -The Earth
  • -Mars (Mangal)
  • -Jupiter (Bhrihaspati)
  • -Saturn (Shani)
  • -Uranus (Arun)
  • -Neptune (Barun)
  • It includes every relationship which established among the people.
  • There can be more than one community in a society. Community smaller than society.
  • It is a network of social relationships which cannot see or touched.
  • common interests and common objectives are not necessary for society.
Videos for The planets

© 2019-20 Kullabs. All Rights Reserved.